Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 22nd, 2013

Belle was long overdue for a trim, so when I called Matt, my farrier, I also mentioned to him that I’d like him to look at Tuff’s hooves, but didn’t expect any trimming as Tuff has not totally grasped the idea of lifting his feet for any length of time.   A few days earlier I had read an article by renowned horseman, Monty Roberts, on “12 Things your Farrier Would Love You to Know.”  Mr. Roberts confirmed my reluctance to have Tuff’s feet trimmed.  “The farrier often feels that he is being taken advantage of and should not be required to take the time necessary to train.”  It’s not that I haven’t worked to get Tuff to the point that lifting his feet is easy, but like most training goals so far, more time has been needed to see desired results.

When Matt finished trimming docile Belle, we moved over to Tuff’s stall, rasp and nippers in tow.  As soon as he lifted his front left foot, Tuff attempted to put it back down.  Matt hung on to it though, and was able to trim and rasp the hoof before letting Tuff put it down.  I told Matt again I didn’t expect him to have to train and trim my horse, but he said it was no problem, and good for Tuff to begin to experience trimming.  On the right front foot, Tuff seemed even more determined to win the battle for control of his foot, but once again, Matt succeeded in getting the trimming done.

Since the front feet were enough for his first trim, we stood around for a few minutes talking horses in general and Tuff in particular.  Last summer, on Matt’s first trip out to trim Belle, I had told him the story of Tuff, and by the time I finished, he told me he had been looking for a young red dun with Hancock breeding, and offered to buy him on the spot.  Seeing him now, eight months later, he told me he would love to train him, told me what he would do if it was his horse, and quoted prices.  Of course he said, I could save all that expense by going ahead and selling him Tuff.  Again I told him I wasn’t ready to do that, but that didn’t mean that the time would come when I would realize that selling Tuff to the right person may be the best thing for the horse.  Matt asked if I would give him the first opportunity to purchase should that time come, and then he only charged me for Belle’s trim, and not the wrestling match to get Tuff’s two front hooves done.  So for now, Tuff has a reliable farrier; only time will tell if Matt’s relationship with Tuff will become much more.

Read Full Post »